Captain Amarinder Singh shuffles bureaucrats in Punjab

File Photo: Capt. Amarinder Singh taking oath in Chandigarh

CHANDIGARH, Punjab—On the first day of his joining as a Chief Minister of Punjab, Captain Amarinder Singh shuffled numerous IAS officers beside making new appointments on the significant posts of Punjab administration.

Sidelining Sarvesh Kaushal from Chief Secretary Post, Captain has chosen IAS officer Karan Avtar Singh as Chief Secretary of Punjab. He has been also given the charge of department of personnel, general administration and vigilance, investment promotion besides additional charge as a Principal Secretary.

Outgoing chief secretary Sarvesh Kaushal has been appointed special chief secretary-cum-director general of Karamchand Gandhi State Institute of Public Administration. The newly elected government has also transferred 12 other IAS officers at the state level with immediate effect besides giving new deputy commissioners to 18 districts. Besides at the principal secretary level and above, the government posted Kamal Kishor Yadav as director, local government, and Arshdeep Singh Thind as managing director, Markfed.

List of newly appointed Deputy Commissioners in 18 districts is as follow:

    1. Amritsar: Kamaldeep Singh Sangha
    2. Bathinda: Diprava Lakra
    3. Patiala: Kumar Amit
    4. Mansa: Dharam Pal
    5. Ludhiana: Pradeep Kumar Agarwal
    6. Sangrur: Amar Partap Singh Virk
    7. SAS Nagar: Gurpreet Kaur Sapra
    8. Kapurthala: Mohammad Tayyab
    9. Rupnagar: Gurneet Tej10
    10. Fatehgarh Sahib: Kanwalpreet Brar11.
    11. Gurdaspur: Amit Kumar12.
    12. Pathankot: Neelima13.
    13. Faridkot: Rajiv Prashar14.
    14. Jalandhar: Varinder Kumar Sharma15.
    15. Hoshiarpur: Vipul Ujwal16.
    16. Ferozepur: Rambir17.
    17. SBS Nagar: Sonali Giri18.
    18. Barnala: Ghanshayam Thori

Here are key posts now held by 12 top IAS officers at the state level:

Himmat Singh: Special chief secretary, horticulture; special principal secretary, forests and wildlife.

Karanbir Singh Sidhu: Special chief secretary, revenue and rehabilitation; special chief secretary, irrigation.

Nirmaljeet Singh Kalsi: Additional chief secretary, home affairs and justice; additional chief secretary, agriculture, additional chief secretary, removal of grievances, principal commissioner (investment promotion and industrial liaison) Punjab Bhawan, New Delhi, and additional chief secretary governance reforms.

Satish Chandra: Additional chief secretary, finance; additional chief secretary, pensions and welfare of pensioners’ wing, principal resident commissioner, Punjab Bhawan, New Delhi, and additional chief secretary co-operation.

SK Sandhu: Additional chief secretary, social security and development of women and children.

Anurag Agarwal: Financial commissioner, taxation.

Raji P Shrivastava: Director, Mahatma Gandhi State Institute of Public Administration.

Tejveer Singh: Principal Secretary to CM; secretary, information and public relations; and secretary, civil aviation.

Vivek Pratap Singh: Excise and taxation commissioner.

Krishan Kumar: Secretary, expenditure (department of finance); and secretary, personnel.

Sikh24 Editors can be reached at