Sikh Freedom Fighter Bhai Gajinder Singh to be conferred Panth Sevak Award, Sant Gurbachan Singh as Panth Rattan by Akal Takht Sahib

CHANDIGARH, Punjab—Sikh24 has learned that the SGPC appointed Akal Takht Sahib Jathedar Giani Harpreet Singh is planning to honor and recognize the struggles by Bhai Gajinder Singh (hijacker). Known as the hijacker, Bhai Gajinder Singh is the founder of the outfit named Dal Khalsa, which is a pro-freedom Sikh organization based in Punjab.

The decision by Giani Harpreet Singh is being seen as a gesture of support towards the Sikh freedom struggle. Bhai Gajinder Singh’s name has surfaced among the 11 Sikhs to be conferred different awards by Akal Takht Sahib for their noteworthy services towards the Sikh Panth. Namely, Bhai Gajinder Singh will be conferred the “Panth Sevak” award.

Sikh24 tried to contact Giani Harpreet Singh to get his comment over this appreciable move but he was not available. However, a staff member of Akal Takht Sahib told Sikh24 that this is just a token of appreciation towards the sacrifices made by Bhai Gajinder Singh for the high morale of the Sikh Panth.

Bhai Gajinder Singh is the founder of Dal Khalsa and has been enduring exile for the last four decades. In 1981, Bhai Gajinder Singh and four other Sikhs had hijacked an Air India’s plane in protest of Sant Jarnail Singh Khalsa Bhindranwale’s arrest in Lala Jagat Narayan murder case.

They had landed this plane in Lahore with an intention to bring the Indian government on the table for negotiation but the Pakistan government didn’t support their efforts and arrested them. After getting arrested, they were sentenced to life in Pakistan.

Since his release from jail in 1995, Bhai Gajinder Singh is living in Lahore after being given political asylum by the Pakistan government.  

The government of India has sought the extradition of Bhai Gajinder Singh several times by declaring him a “dreaded terrorist”, although he has already been sentenced once for his “crime”.

The list of the names of other 10 Sikh personalities and their corresponding awards is as follow:



Sant Giani Gurbachan Singh Bhindranwale

Panth Rattan

Baba Charan Singh

Qaumi Shaheed

Giani Balwant Singh Kotha Guru

Gurmat Martand

Giani Mewa Singh

Shiromani Gurmat Pracharak

Prof. Gurnam Singh

Bhai Mardana Ji Yadgari Award

Bhai Harsimran Singh

Qaumi Chintak

Bhai Harinder Singh Khalsa

Panth Sewak

Prof. Darshan Singh (Punjabi University)

Bhai Gurdas Jee Yadgari Award

Giani Gurcharan Singh Mukatsari

Shiromani Sewak

Baba Iqbal Singh Barhu Sahib

Vidya Martand


The date to confer these awards is yet to be finalized.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here