SGPC Elections – Non-keshadaris Allowed to Vote

—SGPC polling ended today with chaos at many places.  Multiple instances of violence occurred at polling booths and reports have been received of non-keshadharis (“sehajdharis”) casting votes despite the mandate barring those with trimmed hair to vote.  A large number of voters from the native village of Parkash Badal with cut hair cast their votes in the polls. Despite there being a number of officials present, no actions were taken to stop such persons from casting their votes.  There have been reports of Dera Sirsa followers also having cast their votes in the elections.

Non-keshadaris defy election mandates, getting ready to cast their vote

It was reported that only 50% registered voters actually took part in the polling.  The Punjab and Haryana High Court is due to take a decision regarding voting by non-keshadharis.  Official winning candidates will be declared after the High Court decides upon tampering of the voting mandates.  Results are expected to be announced on September 22.

The Panthik Morcha blamed the SAD (B) and SGPC candidates and supporters for a number of cases of violence.  Pardeep Singh Walia of Panthik Morcha from Sri Amritsar (W) alleged that candidates holding allegiance to Parkash Badal had kidnapped his son Simardeep Singh.  He also alleged that some of his relatives were abused by SAD (B) members.  Walia claimed that leaving the Shiromani Akali Dal (B) had disturbed the Badals and that is the reason he is facing such wrath.

According to police officials, clashes amongst voters and staff took place in almost all polling places.  At Kariwala village of Muktsar district, shots were fired in air by SAD (B) supporters.  Another member of the Panthik Morcha, Charanjit Singh, was severely injured during violence at Kariwala which led to the polling to be canceled there.

Unofficial Voting Results of Major Consistencies

Unofficial results received from various places across Punjab were rather shocking.

Sri Amritsar – Kiranjit Kaur SAD (B)/SGPC member

Anandpur Sahib: Anti-Sikh Amarjit Chawla declared victorious

Bathinda: Sukhdev Singh Bahiya – SAD (B) declared victorious

Bhagta Bhai: Phumman Singh – SAD (B) declared victorious

Barnala: Shiromani Akali Dal (A) rebel Paramjit Singh Khalsa who joined hands with Parkash Badal declared victorious

Chandigarh – Harjinder Kaur Walia – SAD (B)

Fatehgarh Sahib – Randhir Singh Cheema (SAD B) defeated both Simranjit Singh Maan (Shiromani Akali Dal Amritsar) and Harpal Singh Cheema of Panthik Morcha

Karnal: Bhupinder Singh Asand defeated Jagdish Singh Jhinda of Haryana

Ludhiana – Avtar S. Makkar SAD (B)

Moga: Shiromani Akal Dal (B) official Jathedar Tota Singh was declared victorious

Navasehar: Gurcharan Singh Tohra loyalist Sukhdev Singh Bhaur declared victorious

Raikot: Jagjeet Singh Talwadi, son of Jagdev Singh Talwandi – SAD (B)


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here