Sikh Anand Marriage Act implemented in Dadra and Nagar Haweli Union Territories

NEW DELHI—Following the imposition of Anand Marriage Act in several other states of India, the act has now also been imposed in two Union Territories of India namely Dadra and Nagar Haweli. Notably, the Anand Marriage Act-2012 was implemented by the state governments of Haryana, Jharkhand, Himachal Pradesh, Orissa, Meghalaya, Kerala, Madhya Pradesh and Mizoram recently.

Sharing the development with Sikh24, General Secretary of Delhi Sikh Gurdwara Management Committee Manjinder Sirsa informed that he has been informed by the Resident Deputy Collector of these UTs about imposition of Anand Marriage Act-2012. He added that he has appealed the state government of Jammu & Kashmir to impose this act but some dereliction on behalf of J&K government is being noticed.

He further told Sikh24 that with the implementation of the act in these states, Sikhs residing there can get their marriages registered under this act. He added that this will be especially helpful to those Sikhs who travel abroad as earlier they had to face a lot of problems because of non-registration of their marriages.

It may be recalled here that in 2012, India had passed the Anand Marriage (Amendment) Bill, after which Sikhs are able to register their marriages under the Anand Marriage Act instead of the Hindu Marriage Act, with President Pratibha Patil giving her assent to a bill passed by Parliament on 7 June 2012 in the budget session.

Sikh24 Editors can be reached at